• Need Answers Now? Contact Us Immediately. 612-605-0722

DWI-DUI Minimum And Maximum Criminal Penalties

Whether this is your first drunk driving offense or you have had multiple offenses, learn the likely Minnesota DWI penalties for your offense if convicted and how a drunk driving lawyer can help.

Minimum And Maximum Penalties For A First DUI Offense

Mandatory Minimum Penalty — A person convicted of a DUI first offense (with no aggravating factor) is not required by law to serve any jail time. It is likely that the court will sentence an individual convicted of a DUI first offense to probation for two years, and require the individual to submit to a chemical evaluation and follow the recommendations of that evaluation. It is also common that a first-time offender be sentenced to some form of community service or STS (sentencing to service). Also, more and more judges are now requiring the convicted person to serve up to 10 days in jail even on a first-time offense.

A DUI first offense can be charged as a gross misdemeanor with much more serious consequences. Driving Under the Influence penalty – gross misdemeanor DUI first offense (with one aggravating factor): MN DWI Law Statute 169A.20 requires a person charged with a gross misdemeanor DUI first offense (with one aggravating factor, i.e., a BAC over .16) to be placed on intensive alcohol monitoring while the case is pending unless the person posts bail in the amount of $12,000. It is not uncommon for a court to require chemical dependency treatment where a person’s blood alcohol content exceeds .16.

Maximum Potential Penalty — A DUI first offense under the DUI law in Minnesota (MN DWI law) is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. This maximum sentence is rarely, if ever given. A DUI first offense can be charged as a gross misdemeanor if there is one “aggravating factor” present such as a BAC above .16.

Minimum And Maximum Penalties For A Second DUI Offense

Mandatory Minimum Penalty — Any DUI second offense is a gross misdemeanor. MN DWI Law Statute 169A.20 requires a person convicted of a DUI second offense (with no aggravating factor) to serve a minimum of 30 days in jail. It is likely that the court will also sentence an individual convicted of a DUI second offense to probation for two to four years and requires the individual to complete chemical dependency treatment and refrain from the use of alcohol subject to random testing.